AB 1167 – Assembly Floor

Orphan Well Prevention Act

As California’s oil production declines, oil well owners are selling wells to companies that are less likely to be in a financial position to complete the required remediation, significantly increasing the risk that the well becomes “orphaned,” with no viable entity responsible to complete that process. The cleanup cost will be on taxpayers unless we hold oil well owners responsible. AB 1167 requires a person who acquires the right to operate an oil well or production facility to file with the state a bond in an amount determined by the supervisor of CalGEM, the state’s oil and gas regulator, to be sufficient to cover all costs of plugging, abandonment, and site restoration.

Author: Wendy Carrillo

View Bill

Bill info from the legislature

Issues: Eliminating Toxins and Pollution

Signed into Law


Signed into Law


43 Yes
18 No
19 Abstain


21 Yes
11 No
8 Abstain



AB 1167 – Assembly Floor VotesVote Date: 5/25/23 

Member Vote
Dawn Addis (D) Yes
Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D) Excused Absence
Juan Alanis (R) No
David Alvarez (D) Abstain
Joaquin Arambula (D) Yes
Jasmeet Bains (D) Yes
Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D) Yes
Steve Bennett (D) Yes
Marc Berman (D) Yes
Tasha Boerner (D) Yes
Mia Bonta (D) Yes
Isaac Bryan (D) Yes
Lisa Calderon (D) Yes
Juan Carrillo (D) Yes
Wendy Carrillo (D) Yes
Sabrina Cervantes (D) Abstain
Phillip Chen (R) No
Damon Connolly (D) Yes
Megan Dahle (R) No
Laurie Davies (R) No
Diane Dixon (R) No
Bill Essayli (R) No
Heath Flora (R) No
Mike Fong (D) Yes
Vince Fong (R) No
Laura Friedman (D) Yes
Jesse Gabriel (D) Yes
James Gallagher (R) No
Eduardo Garcia (D) Yes
Mike Gipson (D) Yes
Tim Grayson (D) Abstain
Matt Haney (D) Yes
Gregg Hart (D) Yes
Chris Holden (D) Yes
Josh Hoover (R) No
Jacqui Irwin (D) Yes
Corey Jackson (D) Yes
Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D) Yes
Ash Kalra (D) Yes
Tom Lackey (R) Abstain
Alex Lee (D) Yes
Evan Low (D) Yes
Josh Lowenthal (D) Yes
Brian Maienschein (D) Yes
Devon Mathis (R) Excused Absence
Kevin McCarty (D) Yes
Tina McKinnor (D) Yes
Al Muratsuchi (D) Yes
Stephanie Nguyen (D) Abstain
Liz Ortega (D) Yes
Blanca Pacheco (D) Yes
Diane Papan (D) Excused Absence
Jim Patterson (R) No
Joe Patterson (R) No
Gail Pellerin (D) Yes
Cottie Petrie Norris (D) Yes
Sharon Quirk-Silva (D) Abstain
James Ramos (D) Abstain
Anthony Rendon (D) Yes
Eloise Gómez Reyes (D) Yes
Luz Rivas (D) Yes
Robert Rivas (D) Yes
Freddie Rodriguez (D) Abstain
Blanca Rubio (D) Abstain
Kate Sanchez (R) No
Miguel Santiago (D) Yes
Pilar Schiavo (D) Yes
Esmeralda Soria (D) Abstain
Tri Ta (R) No
Phillip Ting (D) Yes
Avelino Valencia (D) Abstain
Carlos Villapudua (D) Abstain
Marie Waldron (R) No
Greg Wallis (R) No
Christopher Ward (D) Yes
Akilah Weber (D) Yes
Buffy Wicks (D) Yes
Lori Wilson (D) Yes
Jim Wood (D) Yes
Rick Chavez Zbur (D) Yes