AB 249 – Assembly Floor

School Lead Testing & Mitigation

Lead in drinking water is especially harmful to developing children's brains, and yet there are schools in California with drinking water pipes and fixtures contaminated with lead. AB 249 would have required childcare centers and TK-12 school buildings built after 2010 to meet existing federal and state standards for lead levels in water systems. It required a community water system that serves as a school site to test for lead in each of the school site's potable water system outlets by January 1, 2027, and if the lead level exceeds five parts per billion (ppb), required the local educational agency or school to take immediate steps to shut down use of all fountains and faucets where the excess lead levels may exist and ensure that a potable source of drinking water is provided for students.

Author: Chris Holden, Joaquin Arambula, and Robert Rivas

View Bill

Bill info from the legislature

Issues: Eliminating Toxins and Pollution

Not signed into Law


Vetoed by the Governor


71 Yes
1 No
8 Abstain


35 Yes
3 No
2 Abstain



AB 249 – Assembly Floor VotesVote Date: 5/31/23 

Member Vote
Dawn Addis (D) Yes
Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D) Yes
Juan Alanis (R) Yes
David Alvarez (D) Yes
Joaquin Arambula (D) Yes
Jasmeet Bains (D) Yes
Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D) Yes
Steve Bennett (D) Yes
Marc Berman (D) Yes
Tasha Boerner (D) Yes
Mia Bonta (D) Yes
Isaac Bryan (D) Yes
Lisa Calderon (D) Yes
Juan Carrillo (D) Yes
Wendy Carrillo (D) Yes
Sabrina Cervantes (D) Yes
Phillip Chen (R) Abstain
Damon Connolly (D) Yes
Megan Dahle (R) Abstain
Laurie Davies (R) Yes
Diane Dixon (R) Abstain
Bill Essayli (R) Abstain
Heath Flora (R) Abstain
Mike Fong (D) Yes
Vince Fong (R) Yes
Laura Friedman (D) Yes
Jesse Gabriel (D) Yes
James Gallagher (R) Abstain
Eduardo Garcia (D) Yes
Mike Gipson (D) Yes
Tim Grayson (D) Yes
Matt Haney (D) Yes
Gregg Hart (D) Yes
Chris Holden (D) Yes
Josh Hoover (R) Abstain
Jacqui Irwin (D) Yes
Corey Jackson (D) Yes
Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D) Yes
Ash Kalra (D) Yes
Tom Lackey (R) Abstain
Alex Lee (D) Yes
Evan Low (D) Yes
Josh Lowenthal (D) Yes
Brian Maienschein (D) Yes
Devon Mathis (R) Abstain
Kevin McCarty (D) Yes
Tina McKinnor (D) Yes
Al Muratsuchi (D) Yes
Stephanie Nguyen (D) Yes
Liz Ortega (D) Yes
Blanca Pacheco (D) Yes
Diane Papan (D) Yes
Jim Patterson (R) Abstain
Joe Patterson (R) Yes
Gail Pellerin (D) Yes
Cottie Petrie Norris (D) Yes
Sharon Quirk-Silva (D) Yes
James Ramos (D) Yes
Anthony Rendon (D) Yes
Eloise Gómez Reyes (D) Yes
Luz Rivas (D) Yes
Robert Rivas (D) Yes
Freddie Rodriguez (D) Yes
Blanca Rubio (D) Yes
Kate Sanchez (R) Abstain
Miguel Santiago (D) Yes
Pilar Schiavo (D) Yes
Esmeralda Soria (D) Yes
Tri Ta (R) Abstain
Phillip Ting (D) Yes
Avelino Valencia (D) Yes
Carlos Villapudua (D) Yes
Marie Waldron (R) Yes
Greg Wallis (R) Yes
Christopher Ward (D) Yes
Akilah Weber (D) Yes
Buffy Wicks (D) Yes
Lori Wilson (D) Yes
Jim Wood (D) Yes
Rick Chavez Zbur (D) Yes