AB 3 – Assembly Floor #2

California Offshore Wind Energy & Jobs Act

Offshore wind energy is important for California to achieve 100% renewable energy by 2045 and has the potential to create significant economic benefits and job opportunities for local communities. AB 3 requires the California Energy Commission (CEC) to recommend strategies for procuring energy, maximizing job opportunities, and creating pathways for developing port infrastructure to achieve our climate change goals.

Author: Rick Chavez Zbur, Dawn Addis, Gregg Hart, and Pilar Schiavo

View Bill

Bill info from the legislature

Issues: Clean Energy Economy / Job Creation and Workforce Standards and Protections

Signed into Law


Signed into Law


79 Yes
1 Abstain


39 Yes
1 Abstain



AB 3 – Assembly Floor #2 VotesVote Date: 9/14/23 

Member Vote
Dawn Addis (D) Yes
Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D) Yes
Juan Alanis (R) Yes
David Alvarez (D) Yes
Joaquin Arambula (D) Yes
Jasmeet Bains (D) Yes
Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D) Yes
Steve Bennett (D) Yes
Marc Berman (D) Yes
Tasha Boerner (D) Yes
Mia Bonta (D) Yes
Isaac Bryan (D) Yes
Lisa Calderon (D) Yes
Juan Carrillo (D) Yes
Wendy Carrillo (D) Yes
Sabrina Cervantes (D) Yes
Phillip Chen (R) Yes
Damon Connolly (D) Yes
Megan Dahle (R) Yes
Laurie Davies (R) Yes
Diane Dixon (R) Yes
Bill Essayli (R) No
Heath Flora (R) Yes
Mike Fong (D) Yes
Vince Fong (R) Yes
Laura Friedman (D) Yes
Jesse Gabriel (D) Yes
James Gallagher (R) Yes
Eduardo Garcia (D) Yes
Mike Gipson (D) Yes
Tim Grayson (D) Yes
Matt Haney (D) Yes
Gregg Hart (D) Yes
Chris Holden (D) Yes
Josh Hoover (R) Yes
Jacqui Irwin (D) Yes
Corey Jackson (D) Yes
Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D) Yes
Ash Kalra (D) Yes
Tom Lackey (R) Yes
Alex Lee (D) Yes
Evan Low (D) Yes
Josh Lowenthal (D) Yes
Brian Maienschein (D) Yes
Devon Mathis (R) Yes
Kevin McCarty (D) Yes
Tina McKinnor (D) Yes
Al Muratsuchi (D) Yes
Stephanie Nguyen (D) Yes
Liz Ortega (D) Yes
Blanca Pacheco (D) Yes
Diane Papan (D) Yes
Jim Patterson (R) Yes
Joe Patterson (R) Yes
Gail Pellerin (D) Yes
Cottie Petrie Norris (D) Yes
Sharon Quirk-Silva (D) Yes
James Ramos (D) Yes
Anthony Rendon (D) Yes
Eloise Gómez Reyes (D) Yes
Luz Rivas (D) Yes
Robert Rivas (D) Yes
Freddie Rodriguez (D) Yes
Blanca Rubio (D) Yes
Kate Sanchez (R) Yes
Miguel Santiago (D) Yes
Pilar Schiavo (D) Yes
Esmeralda Soria (D) Yes
Tri Ta (R) Yes
Phillip Ting (D) Yes
Avelino Valencia (D) Yes
Carlos Villapudua (D) Yes
Marie Waldron (R) Yes
Greg Wallis (R) Yes
Christopher Ward (D) Yes
Akilah Weber (D) Yes
Buffy Wicks (D) Yes
Lori Wilson (D) Yes
Jim Wood (D) Yes
Rick Chavez Zbur (D) Yes