SB 253 – Assembly Floor

Climate Corporate Leadership and Accountability Act

The Climate Corporate Leadership and Accountability Act puts California at the forefront of game-changing climate leadership by mandating and standardizing corporate emissions disclosures for the largest corporations. SB 253 requires all U.S.-based companies doing business in California that make over $1 billion in annual revenue to publicly report all their greenhouse gas emissions, including their direct, indirect, and supply-chain emissions. This creates the data transparency needed to reduce corporate emissions significantly by providing consistent and reliable emissions data at scale. This was EnviroVoters' sponsored bill in 2023 and the centerpiece of the Climate Accountability bill package.

Author: Scott Wiener, Lena Gonzalez, Henry Stern, Ash Kalra, and Al Muratsuchi

View Bill

Bill info from the legislature

Issues: Clean Energy Economy

Signed into Law

Top Priority Bill Top Priority Bill


Signed into Law


49 Yes
20 No
11 Abstain


27 Yes
8 No
5 Abstain



SB 253 – Assembly Floor VotesVote Date: 9/11/23 

Member Vote
Dawn Addis (D) Yes
Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D) Yes
Juan Alanis (R) No
David Alvarez (D)* Yes
Joaquin Arambula (D) Yes
Jasmeet Bains (D) No
Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D)* Yes
Steve Bennett (D) Yes
Marc Berman (D) Yes
Tasha Boerner (D) Yes
Mia Bonta (D) Yes
Isaac Bryan (D) Yes
Lisa Calderon (D)* Yes
Juan Carrillo (D) Yes
Wendy Carrillo (D) Yes
Sabrina Cervantes (D) Abstain
Phillip Chen (R) No
Damon Connolly (D) Yes
Megan Dahle (R) No
Laurie Davies (R) No
Diane Dixon (R) No
Bill Essayli (R) No
Heath Flora (R) No
Mike Fong (D) Yes
Vince Fong (R) No
Laura Friedman (D) Yes
Jesse Gabriel (D) Yes
James Gallagher (R) No
Eduardo Garcia (D) Yes
Mike Gipson (D) Abstain
Tim Grayson (D) Abstain
Matt Haney (D) Yes
Gregg Hart (D) Yes
Chris Holden (D) Yes
Josh Hoover (R) No
Jacqui Irwin (D) Yes
Corey Jackson (D) Yes
Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D) Yes
Ash Kalra (D) Yes
Tom Lackey (R) No
Alex Lee (D) Yes
Evan Low (D) Abstain
Josh Lowenthal (D) Yes
Brian Maienschein (D)* Yes
Devon Mathis (R) No
Kevin McCarty (D) Yes
Tina McKinnor (D) Yes
Al Muratsuchi (D) Yes
Stephanie Nguyen (D) Abstain
Liz Ortega (D) Yes
Blanca Pacheco (D) Yes
Diane Papan (D)* Yes
Jim Patterson (R) No
Joe Patterson (R) No
Gail Pellerin (D) Yes
Cottie Petrie Norris (D)* Yes
Sharon Quirk-Silva (D)* Yes
James Ramos (D) No
Anthony Rendon (D) Yes
Eloise Gómez Reyes (D)* Yes
Luz Rivas (D) Yes
Robert Rivas (D) Yes
Freddie Rodriguez (D) Abstain
Blanca Rubio (D) Abstain
Kate Sanchez (R) No
Miguel Santiago (D) Yes
Pilar Schiavo (D) Yes
Esmeralda Soria (D) Abstain
Tri Ta (R) No
Phillip Ting (D) Yes
Avelino Valencia (D) Abstain
Carlos Villapudua (D) Abstain
Marie Waldron (R) No
Greg Wallis (R) No
Christopher Ward (D) Yes
Akilah Weber (D) Abstain
Buffy Wicks (D) Yes
Lori Wilson (D) Yes
Jim Wood (D) Yes
Rick Chavez Zbur (D) Yes

* Legislator only voted Yes on SB 253 after the bill had received the 41 votes it needed to pass